announcement: bird song trainers – a review of (iPhone) apps

I have missed this year’s fall bird migration almost entirely due to work. It was a wonderful sunny fall in Switzerland and therefor I’m a little sad that I didn’t have the time to be out enjoying nature a lot. But winter is actually my preferred birding time: the trees have lost their leaves and I can see the birds. I’m pretty bad with bird songs – I have a hard time identifying birds only by their songs and chirps.
But hey, there are iPhone apps to support my goal of knowing bird songs by next spring.

I plan to do a little series on bird song training apps: what exactly they offer and how they help me learning the bird songs. So far I have the following ones:

– chirp! and chirp! USA (by iSpiny)
– Vogelstimmentrainer (by InnoMoS GmbH in German)
and the quiz parts of
– Peterson iPhone Guide to Backyard Birds (by Wildtones)
– Birds (by Charles Mezak)

Bird-Apps

Please let me know if you know of any other apps that are useful as bird song trainers and I will include them in my review.

~ by Natalie on November 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “announcement: bird song trainers – a review of (iPhone) apps”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bird Feeders and dreamfalcon, dreamfalcon. dreamfalcon said: announcement: I've planned a review on bird song training apps #birdsong #birding http://bit.ly/3IKQUA http://twitpic.com/owbpl […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by dreamfalcon: announcement: I’ve planned a review on bird song training apps #birdsong #birding http://bit.ly/3IKQUA http://twitpic.com/owbpl

  3. I liked your website , it’s filled with great information. You have got one constant visitor and a fan of your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
