Teenaged Eurasian Coots

These two teenaged Eurasian Coots were preening on that piece of wood they stood since they hatched some weeks ago. Pictures take on the Lake of Lucerne, Lucerne, Switzerland. Earlier I have posted a “portrait” of Eurasian Coots.

~ by Natalie on June 30, 2010.

14 Responses to “Teenaged Eurasian Coots”

  1. Very cool photos of the Eurasian Coot. This is a bird I do not know. Thank you for sharing it with us. That last photo is fantastic!

    • Thank you Larry for your nice comment. Did you see my “portrait”-post on the Eurasian Coot here? I posted it once I realized that America Birders don’t know the Eurasian Coot which is a little different from the American Coot.

  2. I love the one-legged pose. They do look like they’re trying to be stylish.

    • This is great way of putting it: trying to be stylish – I like that a lot. Thank you, Joy!

  3. Cute shot of the Coots!

  4. Cute little guys. They must have great balance. 🙂

  5. lol, we have lots of them now. To many to count. But I think they look good.

  6. They’re very reminiscent of our American coots, of course. Some people don’t appreciate these birds much, but I rather like them. 🙂

  7. NatureFootstep and Lana: Thank you for your comments!
    The very little ones are not that cute as other “furry” waterfowl – but they are very special like that.

  8. I’ve never seen our American coots stand on one leg like that – very interesting difference in behavior. I’ll bet it’s fun to watch the teenagers.

  9. Cute shot of the one legged coots. It is nice learning about different birds around the world.

Leave a Reply

 
