Hissing Swan

This Mute Swan was hissing because of dog that passed through – no, it wasn’t because of the screaming kid…. The swan also made itself big to defend its two youngsters. (I’m sorry for the bad sound, but I took the movie in the town of Zurich at the lake very close to the road – but you can hear the swan hiss.)

~ by Natalie on August 1, 2010.

7 Responses to “Hissing Swan”

  1. Great footage. Hissing swans scare the hell out of me 🙂

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Steve Ingraham, Wildlife Photography. Wildlife Photography said: Dreamfalcon – Hissing Swan: http://bit.ly/c9IDBU – @dreamfalcon #WildlifePhoto […]

  3. Great video, looks liek teh swan is just protecting its family.

  4. I’ve heard that swans are as good as watchdogs as geese, and your video supports that. I wouldn’t want to mess with mama!

  5. It’s amazing what birds will do to protect their young. I have a pair of Masked Lapwings that have nested just over from my house and they certainly scare me when I try to walk over that way.

  6. I stay clear of hissing geese, I would certainly steer clear of that Swan!

  7. Thank you all for your nice comments.
    Yes I wouldn’t want to mess with a swan either.
    Tourists who like to take a photo of them with a swan usually go very close. Even if the swans live on lakes in towns, they are still wild – and big!

Leave a Reply

 
