Fabolous Friday: Speckled bush-cricket

I don’t get much birding lately. But in front of our apartment door nature presents itself. Just that I don’t forget to mention: This apartment is on the third floor in the biggest city in Switzerland…
Today I have a male Speckled bush-cricket (Leptophyes punctatissima – Punktierte Zartschrecke). I found it actually on the mirror of the elevator, but then I took it out to take some photos in the sun. It had lost one of his jumper legs before me moving him.

The cricket is about 1.5 cm / not even an inch in length and his antennas can get as long as four time as long.

I couldn’t decide on the best photo, that’s why I show you some – you can click on them to get a closer look.

For insect identification in German: www.insektenbox.de

~ by Natalie on August 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “Fabolous Friday: Speckled bush-cricket”

  1. How cool to have that around your house. you will have to really look for them over here πŸ˜‰ Well done!

  2. That looks like a creature out of a Dr. Seuss book!

  3. @Chris: I love to look around and detect wonders of nature πŸ™‚
    @slugyard: you’re right! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
