Black-headed Gull – Chroicocephalus ridibundus

The Black-headed Gull (Chroicocephalus ridibundus – Lachmöwe) is quite common in Switzerland and also in Germany. That’s why these photos are maybe a little special and fitting the German name “laughing gull”.

Gull names in English and German are quite confusing: see here what I have discovered about the language confusion with gull names.

~ by Natalie on November 17, 2010.

10 Responses to “Black-headed Gull – Chroicocephalus ridibundus”

  1. Super captures!!

  2. I love how you caught these birds in motion…that is fantastic! Wonderful, wonderful!

  3. Fantastic!! The 3rd photo is my favorite. The way you captured a moment of the movement – no blurring at all. It’s as if time stopped at that precise moment just for you. So you could capture that little, precious piece of time. Stunning, really. As Napoleon Dynamite would say “You’ve got mad skills!”

  4. @Kerri @Bob @Kellie: thank you so much for your comments. I’m glad you like the photos 🙂

  5. oh, and did I say I like the “mad skills”?!

  6. Great shots of the Gulls! It’s really hard to capture them in flight.
    Gulls are confusing enough without the addition of different names!

  7. …interesting! When I saw the translation “Lachmöwe” for Black-headed Gull I had to take a second look because I knew it would translate into Laughing Gull. I visited the link you gave for the translations…very confusing and interesting too! These are beautiful gulls and I love the photos!

  8. Beautiful action shots sequence you got there… Well i will not comment on names of gulls…. This can be a terrific headaches sometime 😉

  9. I actually like gulls, but they are so hard to ID.
    Beautiful photos.

  10. thank you all for commenting – and to add to all the confusion: I could post some immature gulls… 😉

Leave a Reply

 
