Tuesday Tweet: Waxwings

It might be another year for Bohemian Waxwings (Bombycilla garrulus – Seidenschwanz) in Switzerland. They normally don’t winter here. Last time we had lots of them was in the winter of 08/09.

Maybe I’ll be able to get some better photos this year…

~ by Natalie on November 30, 2010.

4 Responses to “Tuesday Tweet: Waxwings”

  1. Love, love, love in the first photo how you not only captured one mid-flight, you also got a few looking like they are hanging upside down – like bats!

    The birds look like they are having fun, which makes for an even better picture

    • Thank you Kellie – I appreciate your comments a lot!

      I was so happy to get pictures at all – and with the yellow house in the back they are even OK.
      I went out to where it was said that they would be and I was there for about an hour or more. I have already decided to give up when suddenly I heard the flock of about 200 birds … and from there I followed them trying to get a decent photo.
      Maybe I’ll have a chance this year again 🙂

  2. Wow cool you could get them. It has been a very big year in Iceland too. I think that at one point more than a hundreds were spotted in Reykjavik only… I’ve seen more than 96 in one days just by circling around few streets, just as you can see on my last post. I’ll check them out again when the rain wills top… I hope you will get nicer shots but these are already quite nice.

  3. Thanks so much for your postings. I’ve always known there was significant diversity within the bird kingdom, but never realized how much until following your blog. Plus your photos are outstanding! Thanks so much…
    Bob

Leave a Reply

 
