World Bird Wednesday – Chough

This is the Yellow-Billed Chough or Alpine Chough (Pyrrhocorax graculus – Alpendohle). On Mount Pilatus close to Lucerne Switzerland you will always find them – waiting for left overs of the tourists visiting the top of the mountain.

I think the colors of that bird are just awesome – a totally black bird with a bright yellow bill and bright red legs.

See more posts of birds from around the world on World Bird Wednesday

~ by Natalie on December 1, 2010.

22 Responses to “World Bird Wednesday – Chough”

  1. Maybe I should visit this place as this is a bird I still have to put on my birdlist πŸ˜‰ beautiful shots, especially the flight one.

  2. Really excellent captures!

  3. t first shot is super and also the one in flight. Good job. MB

  4. They are beautiful! The last one looks like they’re posing for a profile shot!

  5. Great pictures! Hard to get right with the stark contrast between black and white – and you did.

  6. These are stunning images. The Swiss Alps are always a welcome sight for me. I walked part of the way up the magnificent Matterhorn about 35 years ago and the images are still clearly etched upon my mind.
    All in all I think the last picture of the Chough is my favorite. There is something about the reflection, the depth of focus, and the arrangement of their heads that pulls my eye through this great composition. I have tried to no avail to get pictures of black birds, they just suck in the light and give none of it back. Very impressive! ;-)WBW

  7. He is a gorgeous bird. Love the combo of the bright yellow bill and red/orange legs!

  8. What amazing color for a black feathered bird! The ALPS in the background is spendid as well. Thanks for checking out my ducklings–and October did seem sort of late to me too, but I saw some C. Geese with young about the same size the pond where they live will not freeze up so I guess they know what they’re doing!

  9. I had to look this bird up. Now I know what it is. But it does not live in my region. Looks loke a mixture of blackbird and crow. πŸ™‚

  10. There is something fantastic about each and every shot. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

  11. @Kerri @MaryBeth @Pam @Kelly @Sondra @NatureFootstep Thank you all so much for commenting!

  12. Excellent shots, and what a landscape! I live in Norway, but the Alps still amazes me!

  13. Is this what the locals call ‘Bergdolen’?

    Beautiful shots and close ups.

  14. Thanks for being a member of this meme. What a very striking bird! I also couldn’t help but notice the beautiful mountains in the background.:)

  15. Your blog is wonderful! I will surely come back with more time, have seen Nepal on labels and, being one of the favourite countries I visited, I want to check it all. πŸ™‚

  16. Beautiful images – I love the black, yellow and orange legs and what a backdrop – thanks for sharing!

  17. Wow…what beautiful birds! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
