Nesting Season: Blue Tit

For Christmas we got a cute little nest house from tweet tweet home. Though, I haven’t found a good place to hang it yet.
Also this start of the year I saw this amazing nest box from magazin.de. I ordered it and it arrived in a huge pretty big package about ten days ago.

It can be easily strapped around something like a tree. We have some sort of a column right beside the honeysuckle I observe for the Tree Year Project, and this is the place were I put it. I thought, ok, it looks pretty but I'm sure it'll take years before someone notices - but hey, guess what: It didn't take two weeks and now cute little Blue Tits (Cyanistes caeruleus / Parus caeruleus - Blaumeise) are carrying "tons" of moss into it (click on the photos to get a better image):

Now I think that I should have tried to put a webcam inside…
I’ll keep you posted what’s happening (on the outside).

Also see World Bird Wednesday for more great birds from around the world.

~ by Natalie on March 27, 2011.

32 Responses to “Nesting Season: Blue Tit”

  1. Love that little bird! What a treat for your honeysuckle!

  2. That is a very cute bird box, what a beautiful little bird.
    Please keep us posted on the progress of the nest.

  3. I love this post! I’ve heard other people’s nest boxes can hang around unused for years. That is such a pretty bird.

  4. Weird looking box but hey the Blue Tits don’t care do they?

  5. The box is pretty, both for us and the Blue Tits!

  6. Not only are these pictures fabulous, seeing the birds carrying moss inside and literally “nesting” made me smile. I’ve been in need of a good smile lately, too.

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. how nice. 🙂 And Blue tits. They are so beautiful. You will have a lot of fun watching them.

  8. Very cool Natalie! That’s going to be a blast to watch them as they raise their little ones. I noticed that the Blue Tit is not using the perch in any of these photos and most cavity nesting birds don’t use them. I am curious whether you ever see them using the perch at all. If they don’t, you might think about removing it before next season if possible. Perches on nest boxes usually only help predators of the nesting birds.

    I urge everyone reading this to click on each of the photos. The large images are fabulous!

  9. Amazing photos – especially detailed and clear when enlarged! How exciting to have the nest box in use so quickly and by such a sweet bird. Looking forward to seeing more, as you have been able to get some close shots.

  10. Oh my goodness, this is wonderful! Fabulous images of bird behavior! Especially wonderful captures of the beautiful Blue Tit with moss nesting material. Looking forward to future posts about your new residents.

  11. Super Series!!

  12. Very similar activity here Natalie except our pair are reusing a old well worn box.
    Your box looks like there is plenty of room for them to bring up a large brood. I’ll be watching for regular updates. FAB.

  13. O wow! What a wonderful opportunity to see these little ones preparing for new life! Great photos!

  14. Great photos. It must be so interesting and such fun to have cute little birds like that building a nest so close.

  15. Great little birds – abd what a great bird ‘box’ – the birds will be demanding hot and cold running water at this rate!

    Great pictures.

  16. What a wonderful series. Spring always is an interesting time with nest building and chasing each other around.

  17. Very cool nest box! Great shots too- we’ve got plenty more moss over here in case your bird runs out.

  18. What a nice little bird. Beautiful!

  19. What a brilliant design for a nest box! Your going to have a blast observing your new neighbors and given your stellar photography skills I am certainly looking forward to joining the fun. It sure is nice to get a quick payoff on a new bird house. Good show!

  20. Cutest little bird! We don’t have them here but I sure enjoy seeing them from the other side of the pond!

  21. A contemporary bird box my word. It’s a beauty and the fact the Blue Tits are moving in shows even the birds are moving with the times. A lovely post thanks for sharing and yes I want one.

  22. Excellent set of images!
    The hole hardly looks big enough for them to get through. 🙂
    I love the shot on the tree branch!

    Thanks for visiting.

  23. ITS a great nest box! Glad you got a “renter” for the summer! Great photos.

  24. Cute birdhouse, and great photos!

  25. Awesome that they are already starting to nest there 😀
    Lucky you 🙂

  26. Brillian images, Natalie, particularly when enlarged to their true size. I love the nest box – I would love put one on my trees!

  27. These are fabulous photos of this lovely little bird!

  28. Such cute captures! Great work.

  29. I saw blue tits on one of the other entries this week (on WBW) — what a gorgeous bird. New to me. Lovely pictures.

  30. Your cute birds have a cute little home! Great shots!

  31. This is just great!:) Putting cam inside will be a good idea, pleas keep us up to date on this!

  32. […] And of course our birdhouse just above the Honeysuckle – see photos of the Blue Titmouse bringing nesting material here: […]

Leave a Reply

 
