Large Bee Fly

At first  you think it’s a bee. And then you see those long legs and a long “nozzle”. That’s the point where I start to take a lot of photos and want to look it up and see what exactly it is: A Large Bee Fly (Bombylius major – Grosser Wollschweber).

See yourself – interesting creature:

~ by Natalie on April 4, 2011.

8 Responses to “Large Bee Fly”

  1. These are awesome creatures! I saw my first one last year and I thought it was a baby hummingbird moth 🙂 They are cute little creatures that’s for sure.
    You got some great captures!

  2. That’s a very hard one to get. I tried last year but never did it. They fly so quickly… Well done…

  3. What a strange little guy! Great photos.

  4. Fascinating! A most interesting looking insect. Wonderful images!

  5. Gorgeous! Interesting. Love it!

  6. How cool!!!
    I’ve never seen or heard of this one.
    Great you caught it and could look it up!

    I saw a wasp like thingy the other day, but before I could snap a shot (after recovering from the surprise, that thing was HUGE), it was already gone.

  7. Cool! We have a lot of insects around here that try to look like bees. Must keep predators a little hesitant.

  8. Nice shots showing its long dangling legs and proboscis! I was excited to just discover this fly in Pennsylvania.

Leave a Reply

 
