Early Summer Walk – part II

And here are more birds I was able to see on my morning walk. I was very thrilled to see that Common Sandpiper (Actitis hypoleucos – Flussuferläufer) because even though it was already 8.30 a.m. and other people around, I managed to take some decent photos. They are not very common in Switzerland and it’s only the second time I’ve seen one.

.

.

On the other hand the White Wagtail (Motacilla alba – Bachstelze) is pretty common but I hardly ever take decent photos – save today:

.

The Mallard Drake (Anas platyrhynchos – Stockente) is always a beauty:

.

And this Common Coot (Fulica atra – Blässhuhn) must have gotten into a fight – see the blood on its beak?

.

For more bird photos go to Bird Photography Weekly

~ by Natalie on April 22, 2011.

6 Responses to “Early Summer Walk – part II”

  1. Despite everything – I don’t think any bird can beat a mallard for looks. Give me an eagle or a mallard – and I’d go for the duck (or drake!) every time.

    Lucy

  2. The wagtail is interesting. Love seeing your birds from across the pond…

  3. Similar crazy Spring (summer) weather here as well but we did have our first drop of rain last night.
    Still waiting to find a Common Sandpiper for this year.

    For the Blue Tit Updates you will need to keep an eye on ‘The Early Birder’ blog http://fabearlybirder.blogspot.com/
    Our female is constantly on the nest but I don’t now how many eggs are in it yet. I guess yours may be taking a break until they believe the right food source will be available.
    Cheers Frank.

  4. All beautiful birds but I’d really like to see and photograph a Common Sandpiper. It looks like a beautiful day.

  5. Beautiful photos!
    I love to see ‘uncommon’ common birds 😉
    Poor Coot, but I guess that’s the way (Wild)Life goes!

  6. What a great collection to see on a morning walk!

Leave a Reply

 
