Australia: The good, the bad and the unidentified

Update, Oct. 19: all mysteries solved 🙂 Check out my newest post.

I decided to do my bird life list using the list from birdlist.org and add a photo wherever I have one. Therefor I went through my pictures of Australia from almost ten years ago. I still had a small camera at that time. I managed to take some very nice bird photos even though I wasn’t really birdwatching at the time.
I was able to identify 28 birds – some with the help of Steven over at noahproject. He was able to ID for me some very bad photos, like this one:

Apostlebird or Grey Jumper

These are still unidentified:

unknown - Hinterland, Australia

unknown - Dorrigo National Park

And which one is the White-browed Scrubwren?

White Browed Scrubwren ?

White Browed Scrubwren ?

But there is worse to come. Is there any chance that a name tag can be put on those shadows?

unknown - Lamington National Park

unknown - Sydney

To end this, here are some better ones:

Rufous Fantail

Noisy Miner

Crested Pigeon

~ by Natalie on October 15, 2011.

6 Responses to “Australia: The good, the bad and the unidentified”

  1. Red-rumped Parrot for the second one, maybe? I like your Apostlebird photo – those guys have SO much personality.

  2. I too think its a Red-rumped Parrot. I hope your able to identify more of the birds.

  3. Thank you Rebecca and Prairiebirder – I see that this really could be Red-rumped Parrot 🙂

  4. So many beautiful birds! It’s nice to view photographs of birds I have never seen before. Stunning Rufous Fantail. Good luck on identifying them all.

  5. Hi there – will go with red-rumped parrot for the first bird as well (have a look at my post from June 14th this year for another picture). The next one is a pigeon of some sort, but that’s as far as I can go. I’ll also pass on the scrubwren. I’d be thinking of Eastern Yellow Robin for the yellow and grey blur (!) and New Holland Honeyeater for the last one.

    Hope this is of some use!

    Thanks for the visit – hope you can drop in again!

    Stewart M – Australia

  6. You have some amazing birds! I can only imagine having lifelists in so many different countries — thank you for sharing some of your wonderful sightings.

Leave a Reply

 
