That very cold weekend – songbirds

Switzerland – and most of Europe, I believe – was hit with ice cold weather the weekend of February 4/5. Minus 8°C (17°F) for the days highest temperature is not very common here. But the sun was shining and I couldn’t resist taking a walk 🙂

Look at the Blackbird’s feet, for an impression of the cold:

People were putting food out, so there was sort of a gathering.

And I even saw the bird of 2012 of Switzerland – perfectly matching the weather, a Winter Wren (Zaunkönig)

 

 

~ by Natalie on February 6, 2012.

8 Responses to “That very cold weekend – songbirds”

  1. I photographed all these birds on the weekend; in the same order, too. How spooky is that? 🙂

    • Hey mike, I’m glad that I took more photos of other birds – see my coming posts. I hope you didn’t catch them too, otherwise this would be really spooky!

  2. Wonderful post Natalie, the colors are beautiful.

  3. Amazing job of capturing the colors & variety! Thanks for sharing with us!
    Bob

  4. Lovely series of photographs! Beautiful colors. Love the little nuthatch.

Leave a Reply

 
