Two birds with uncertain ID – solved…

update on October 19: Thanks to Liam over at projectnoah.org I found the IDs (see bold names above photos) – thanks again!

=========

I still have two (well actually more*) birds from Panama, where I’m not certain about the ID. Of those two I have photos where it should be possible to id them. Any help is appreciated!

This falcon is a Forest Falcon – it was chasing a Toucan on Pipeline Road. It just doesn’t match any in my field guide. Is it a Barred Forest Falcon? But where are the bars?
Collared Forest Falcon – Micrastur semitorquatus

And this one looks like a Brown Jay – but there seems to be no Brown Jays in Panama City, where the photo was taken; Amador, close to the canal to be exact.
Tropical Mockingbird – Mimus gilvus

~ by Natalie on October 14, 2012.

4 Responses to “Two birds with uncertain ID – solved…”

  1. I hope you can get some assistance with the ID’s. I wish I could help, but I am unfamiliar with Panama birds. They are both beautiful!

  2. I appreciate your visit and comment, Julie! Thanks!
    I have just updated the post, because I think I found the correct names 🙂

  3. And if you are ever looking for more help with bird IDs, you might want to try out http://whatbirdisthis.wordpress.com/ (but we’re not so strong outside of North America).

Leave a Reply

 
