Results of the National Waterfowl Count

The second weekend in Switzerland is National Waterfowl count. For the Swiss Bird Association “Vogelwarte” I’m doing this count for the third year along “my” stretch on Lake of Zurich.

This time the weather forecast wasn’t as sunny as the last two years, but at least it wasn’t raining. I shouldered almost 10kg of stuff (scope with tripod, binoculars, camera etc.) and marched 14 km in a bit more than 5 hours.

I only saw 22 species (I had 28 before) for the count and nothing really outstanding. As always the European Coot (Blässhuhn) got the first place with 918. The Tufted Duck (Reiherente) is usually among the first five, got second this year with 282. They outnumbered the Black Headed Gull (Lachmöwe), which normally take second, this year I counted 240 of them. And the Mallards (Stockente) took place four with 178.

Always great to see are the Eurasian Curlews (Grosser Brachvogel) only a small group this year, the Common Goldeneye (Schellente) and the ones on the photo. Can you guess what they are?

I did see another life bird as well, but one that doesn’t count for the Waterfowl Count, so I’ll tell you in my next post.

 

 

~ by Natalie on November 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
