Sandpiper – but which one?

Besides the Sanderlings I got quite confused with the Sandpipers. But I think some of you know the problem.

Here are my suggestions and I’m thankful for every hint.

Semipalmated Sandpiper

rather short bill, and definitely smaller than  the Turnstone and still a bit smaller thanthe Plovers. What do you think?

semipalm1

semipalm2

Western or Least Sandpiper? > Least!

Thanks to the hint of the Twitterer @WorldWaders and Shorebird Expert György Szimuly: “If you see the leg colour it is easy. The Least Sp. is the only small Calidris with yellowish legs.” – And yes, it does have yellowish legs! Thank you.

Bill slightly curved downwards – much smaller than the Sanderling (last photo), but what about those reddish feathers on the back…

least1

least2

least3

~ by Natalie on May 22, 2013.

3 Responses to “Sandpiper – but which one?”

  1. I’m not going to be much help to you in the identification part, but I suggest you post your photographs in the “The Facebook Bird ID group of the world” (https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/BirdIDgroupoftheworld/) I’ve found it a very helpful group when I’ve needed help IDing birds.

    Good Luck!

  2. Hi,
    This looks like Dunlin to me at least on the two last pictures!

Leave a Reply

 
