Hazel

About two weeks ago I read a short note about the pollen of the hazel in the magazine “ornis” of BirdLife Switzerland. It was about the pollen that are now, in February, being blown from the male catkin. Their goal is the little red stigma of the female flower. Hazel  doesn’t need bees to pollinate the wind is enough, but bees need the Hazel. Their pollen is one of the nutritious food they need for the first bee larvae of the year. 

The next day I was walking by the river suddenly remembering this info about the hazel. I know that there are hazel along the path. When I saw the bush, clearly full of catkin I started looking for the female flowers. Were they on the same bush or not? I was looking, but it took me a while before I saw them: some of the them right next to the catkin, little buds with those red stigmas. I never saw them before and was quite impressed. 

I walked home to get my zoom and microscope lenses for the iPhone. 

 The female flower (10x zoom)female hazel  

The female flower next to the male catkin (10x zoom)
female and male  

The tip of the male catkin (150x magnified with my-icros)male catkin  

The stigma of the female flower (150x zoom)
female  

The female flower and the hairy twig (150x zoom) 

~ by Natalie on February 21, 2016.

2 Responses to “Hazel”

  1. Very nice photos. It’s really neat to see the difference in the sexes of the plant.

  2. Vielen Dank für die Information, auch ich hatte nie vorher die weiblichen Blüten bemerkt.

Leave a Reply

 
