Thursday Tweep – Bloggin’ Newby

I listen to Ray Brown’s “Talkin’ birds” regularly. The radio show that is aired around Boston on Sunday Mornings is also available on iTunes – that’s how I get to listen to them whenever I want.
Lately there was a young birder from Canada calling into the show. At the moment she is on the caribbean island of Nevis and talks about her birding experiences on her blog: http://prairiebirder.wordpress.com
Check out her blog and see some wonderful photos and maybe get to know some new birds!

Bloggin’ Lessons Learnd
I myself am blogging for about two years now and I would like to put down some lessons I’ve learned. Blogging is much more fun if you can share it with others. If no one visits your blog, the sharing doesn’t really work. It helps if you
a) visit other blogs and leave comments
b) add tags and categories to your post
c) join networks like natureblognetwork or carnivals like “I and the bird” or “bird photography weekly” (check out my right column for more)

Do you have any other ideas? Please leave a comment!

~ by Natalie on November 25, 2010.

3 Responses to “Thursday Tweep – Bloggin’ Newby”

  1. Howdee…Thanks for introducing me to the new blogger…also nice points on blogging.. it is always nice to get a comment. I add categories but have yet to add tags..not sure what they are for. Happy birding!

  2. Thanks Dawn for your comment!
    I think that categories are more for putting the post “in a drawer” like grouping your posts on your blog. Tagging tells the search machines what the content of the post is and makes it easier to find.

  3. Thank you so much for mentioning me, and for saying such nice things.

Leave a Reply

 
