A triangular leather seed?

I picked that seed off a tree and only when I took the photos of it, I realized that it is actually leather – well ok, the pattern looks like leather:

 

If anybody knows from what kind of tree this seed could be, I’d be happy to know.

~ by Natalie on March 6, 2011.

3 Responses to “A triangular leather seed?”

  1. Don’t know the tree – but intriguing seed.

    Lucy

  2. I haven’t been able to find out either! What great textural photos.

  3. I found out the name of the tree that produces those funny fruits: Koelreuteria or “Blasenblüte” in German. Native from Asia.

Leave a Reply

 
