From Koblenz to Döttingen

I started in Koblenz at 8.15 close to the Klingnauer Stausee. I have been to this “lake” (that is really the river Aare shortly before it flow into the Rhine) many times before. Starting in Koblenz was new and I was very happy with my choice. The little forest in the “Giriz” was beaming with bird songs. Unfortunately the promised sun didn’t show up.

I passed over a railway bridge to the next nature conservation site, the “Gippinger Grien”. I’m looking forward to visiting that place again, when the butterflies are here.

20160402-13

At noon when I reached the Klingnauer Stausee the sun still didn’t come out and I only took photos with my iPhone. But for the last hour of my walk I did use my big camera, because I was able to take my first photos of Garganeys (Knäkente – Anas querquedula) after ten years:three Gargeneys

Luckily I had my camera still out, because this Water Rail (Wasserralle – Rallus aquaticus) was pretty close and not so shy:20160402-15

During the five hours it took me to do this walk from Koblenz to Döttingen (only about 3 Miles) I was able to see 51 bird species (eBird checklist).

~ by Natalie on April 3, 2016.

One Response to “From Koblenz to Döttingen”

  1. Kompliment, da hast Du richtig Glück gehabt! Ich halte schon länger Ausschau nach Wasserrallen bei unseren Ausflügen am Rhein; es ist mir leider nie gelungen, eine zu sehen, sie sollen ja sehr scheu sein. Lieben Gruß aus Wiesbaden, Nadia

Leave a Reply

 
